AcyMailing Module

Gobierno en República Dominicana
Government PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 10 December 2009 00:55

The Government of the Dominican republic is a representative democracy with a president, similar to that of the United States. The Constitution of the Republic outlines three clear branches of power: Executive, Legislative and Judicial. The Executive power is under that of the President, Vice President and Cabinet. This also includes Secretaries of State that have been designated by the President.

The voting process is very important to the Dominican people. Every four years they vote to elect both the president and various other authorities.  Any citizen over the age of 18 may vote.

The Legislative Power is exercised by a bi-chamber congress comprised of the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies. Currently there are 32 Senators and 152 Deputies.

The Judicial Power is represented by the Supreme Court of Justice, the Appeal Courts, the Land Courts, the Preliminary Hearings Courts and the Justice of the Peace.

For more information on the Dominican State,

Political Parties:
The Dominican Republic has three majority parties: the Dominican Liberation Party (PLD), the Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD) and the Christian Social Reformist Party (PRSC). There are also many minor parties.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 16:41